Rowallane Area Spring Meeting

Posted May 4, 2013 by Rowallane in News

Rowallane Area Spring Meeting

The Rowallane Area Spring Meeting was held in Moneyreagh Community Centre at 7.30 on Tuesday 16th April 2013. Boardmills provided a touch of spring with their floral decoration. Carryduff carried out their duties as stewards and Treasurer very efficiently. Irene Kerr judged the crocheted brooches for craft and the chocolate Swiss roll for cookery. Nora Lennon judged the floral arrangements of five blooms. This was a new competition this year and like the other two, was supported by all the Institutes in the area.
Chairperson was Elizabeth Moore welcomed everyone, especially Helen Mills our Speaker. Reports were given by Newtownbreda (Pat Neill) and Saintfield (Irene Craig). Sub-committee reports were given by Linda Bryce for Homecraft, June Beer for Homes and Gardens, Kay Campbell for Arts, Linda Peak for Magazine and Leisure and Agnes Black for ACWW / International. Irene Craig, Federation Vice Chairmen and Rowallane Executive Member gave her report and then presented the following awards.
1st Moneyrea W.I.
2nd Carryduff W.I.
1st Madeline McMullan, Annahilt W.I.
2nd Maxine McConaghy, Annahilt W.I.
1st Mary Dalzell, Annahilt W.I.
2nd Wilma Barr, Moneyrea W.I.
1st Molly Brown Cup – Elizabeth Moore, Saintfield W.I.
2nd Saintfield Cup – Agnes Black, Boardmills W.I.
3rd Annahilt Salver – Muriel Massey, Boardmills W.I.
1st Moneyrea Cup – Jennifer Skelly, Moneyrea W.I.
2nd Saintfield Cup – Valerie Raymond, Boardmills W.I.
3rd Boardmills Clock – Jean Burns Carryduff W.I.
Floral Art
1st May Fox, Boardmills W.I.
2nd Joan Sommerville, Moneyrea W.I.
3rd Valerie Raymond, Boardmills W.I.
Federation Awards
Calligraphy Open Section Pringle Cup – Helen Palmer Newtownbreda W.I.
Good Handwriting Novice Newtownbreda Trophy – Margaret Johnston Annahilt W.I.
Isobel Lusk Cup Knitting – Jennifer Skelly Moneyrea W.I.
Hobbycraft Trophy – Jennifer Skelly Moneyrea W.I.
Festival of Food and Flowers
Sadie Maxwell Cup Cookery – Elizabeth Moore Saintfield W.I.
Nettie Robinson Cup Cookery – Elizabeth Moore Saintfield W.I.

Other Awards
Silver Spinning Wheel – Jennifer Skelly Moneyrea W.I.


Boxes Joan Crowther – Carryduff W.I.
Joan Agnew – Saintfield W.I.
Irene Craig – Saintfield W.I.
Harriet Fraser – Moneyrea W.I.
Jennifer Skelly – Moneyrea W.I.

Pictures Noreen Martin – Moneyrea W.I.

Macrame Brenda Richardson – Moneyrea W.I.

Beadwork Linda Bryce – Moneyrea W.I.
Jennifer Skelly – Moneyrea W.I.

Helen Mills’ talk “As seen on TV” gave members an insight of her personal experiences and participation in The Weakest Link, The Chase and The Hairy Bikers.

A delightful supper was served by Moneyrea W.I. Annahilt W.I followed this with an amusing sketch. Vote of thanks was given by Annahilt W.I. The singing of The Countrywoman’s Song concluded the evening.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response