Arts Coffee Morning 2015

Posted March 16, 2015 by WI Staff in Event Reports

Despite it being Friday 13th and a wet morning, over one hundred WI ladies descended on Federation House for the Arts Sub-Committee’s annual Coffee Morning and presentation of prizes. Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Ethel Simpson welcomed everyone, including Federation Chairman Margaret Collinson, Vice-Chairman Irene Craig and Treasurer Anne Kirkwood. The ladies enjoyed viewing the wonderful paintings, 3D decoupage, calligraphy, and good handwriting entries. There is such talent in the WI! A very enjoyable cup of tea/coffee together with a large selection of eatables were ably served by the Sub-Committee members. Some ladies who had never visited Federation House before took the opportunity to have a look around. A raffle was held to supplement funds and Ethel asked Chairman Margaret to present the prizes to the worthy winners. All the entrants were thanked for participating and the prize winners were congratulated. The Arts Sub-Committee were thanked for their hard work preparing the room and for providing and serving the food which all helped to make the day such a success.


The winners were placed as follows:


BEST OVERALL Jean Hughes Cup – Anna McKeown, Moneymore WI


Class 1ACRYLICS – Mabel Johnston Salver (13 entries)

1st place – Margaret Nicholson, Caledon WI

2nd place – Eleanor McIlroy, Cullybackey WI

3rd place – Olive Cornett, Glenanne WI

Highly Commended – Heather Lowry, Ballysallagh WI


Class 2 – ANY OTHER MEDIUM – Moorcroft Salver (4 entries)

1st place – Helen Palmer, Newtownbreda WI

2nd place – Gloria Hassell, Armoy WI

3rd place – Helen Galway, Ballysallagh WI

Highly Commended – Margaret Johnston, Annahilt WI


Class 3OILS – OPEN – Phyllis Ennis Cup (9 entries)

1st place – Anne McKeown, Moneymore WI

2nd place – Lily Swinson, Macosquin WI

3rd place – Janne Patton, Armoy WI

Highly Commended – Lily Kennedy, Macosquin WI


Class 4 OILS – NOVICE – Lorna Walker Salver (8 entries)

1st place – Rosemary Downey, Killultagh WI

2nd place – Joan Moore, Garvagh WI

3rd place – Elizabeth Cleland, Crossgar WI

Highly Commended – Margaret Johnston, Annahilt WI


Class 5WATERCOLOUR – OPEN – Logan Salver (8 entries)

1st place – Deborah Smyth, Crossgar WI

2nd place – Reta Gilmore, Cladymilltown WI

3rd place – June Sterling, Larne WI

Highly commended – Maureen Lindsay, Drumbeg WI


Class 6WATERCOLOUR – NOVICE – Joy Swann Salver (14 entries)

1st place – Deborah Smyth, Crossgar WI

2nd place – Joy Caskie, Aghanloo WI

3rd place – Audrey Henderson, Donaghadee WI

Highly commended – Helen Palmer, Newtownbreda WI


Class 7 – 3D DECOUPAGE – OPEN – Harbinson Trophy (8 entries)

1st place – Evelyn Trimble, Annalong WI

2nd place – Elizabeth Rankin, Ballyblack WI

3rd place – Elizabeth Connor, Garvagh WI

Highly Commended – Betty Holmes, Garvagh WI


Class 83D DECOUPAGE – NOVICE – Gosford Trophy (13 entries)

1st place – Joyce McLenaghan, Garvagh WI

2nd place – Inez Richmond, Armoy WI

3rd place – Maureen Johnston, Newtownbreda WI

Highly commended – Margaret Eynon, Crossgar WI


Class 9 – CALLIGRAPHY – OPEN – Pringle Cup (5 entries)

1st place – Barbara McGibben, Upper Finaghy WI

2nd place – Helen Palmer, Newtownbreda WI

3rd place – Margaret Stokes, Carrickfergus WI


Class 10CALLIGRAPHY – NOVICE – Jacqui Brachi Shield (3 entries)

1st place – Olivia Nutt, Eglinton WI

2nd place – Doreen Smyth, Artana WI

3rd place – Pat Neill, Newtownbreda WI


Class 11 – GOOD HANDWRITING – OPEN – Stedfast Salver (16 entries)

1st place – Eileen White, Mosside WI

2nd place – Margaret Johnston, Annahilt WI

3rd place – Pat Neill, Newtownbreda WI

Highly Commended – Margaret Logan, Broughshane WI


Class 12 – GOODHANDWRITING – NOVICE – Newtownbreda Trophy (22 entries)

1st place – Jennifer Skelly, Moneyrea WI

2nd place – Joan Laverick, Newtownbreda WI

3rd place – Elizabeth Moore, Saintfield WI

Highly Commended – Margaret Stokes, Carrickfergus WI









Federation Chairman Margaret Collinson presenting the ‘Best Overall’ winner Anna McKeown of Moneymore WI with the Jean Hughes Trophy.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response