Bowls Final 2018

Posted May 24, 2018 by WI Staff in Event Reports

On Saturday 7th April, nineteen Area finalists headed to Christ Church in Castledawson to take part in the annual Federation Bowls Final.  Magazine and Leisure Sub-Committee Acting Chairman Dorothy Andrews gave everyone a very warm welcome and introduced the umpire for the day – Johnny Mawhinney, an official umpire for Mid Ulster.

After the first two rounds, the teams going through to the quarter finals were Sperrin, Riada, Lower Bann, Lisnagarvey, Abercorn, Erne, Quoile and Clogher Valley. This produced some very hard-fought games which resulted in a semi-final between Riada vs Lower Bann and Erne vs Quoile.  This then resulted in the final between Eva McClements representing Lower Bann and Myrtle Hurst representing Erne.

The final game proved to be very exciting indeed, with only one shot difference after nine ends, producing Myrtle Hurst as the overall winner and the WI Bowler of the Year 2018!  After winning, Myrtle received a big, well-deserved hug from her husband who had been sitting nervously on the sideline watching!

Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden was called upon to present the salver to Myrtle and conveyed her congratulations to the her and to everyone concerned with the running of the tournament.

Dorothy Andrews then delivered a Vote of Thanks to Christ Church for the use of their wonderful hall, to the ladies from Moneymore WI for the delicious food provided for both morning coffee and lunch, and to the umpire Johnny for his expertise in overseeing the tournament and to everyone concerned in running the competition.  A big thank you was also extended to all the ladies who took part. There would not be a Bowls competition without our bowling members!


Pictured at the Bowls Final 2018 (L-R): Runner-up Eva McClements of Macosquin WI representing the Lower Bann Area, ‘WI Bowler of the Year 2018’ Myrtle Hurst of Irvinestown WI representing the Erne Area, Federation Chairman Elizabeth, acting Magazine and Leisure Sub-Committee Chairman Dorothy Andrews and umpire Johnny Mawhinney.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response