Federation President Lady Anthony Hamilton

Federation President
Lady Anthony Hamilton

Through the WI, members are encouraged to pursue a wide range of interests. Activities are driven by our members and their interests and develop and evolve with time. Overall management of the Federation is the responsibility of the Executive Committee while finances are looked after by the General Purposes Committee. There are six Sub-Committees that are responsible for a wide variety of interests and activities that are organised and run by the Federation. Details of these sub-committees and their roles and responsibilities are outlined in the Sub-Committees page.

The Executive Committee is responsible to the Federation Council, which meets twice each year at the Annual General Meeting in April and again at the Autumn Council Meeting. No significant changes can be made to the rules without the approval of the Council expressed by delegated vote of each Institute at either the Annual General Meeting or the Autumn Council Meeting.

The Executive Committee comprises 22 members, including the Office Holders above, one member elected from within each of the 22 areas. However the Executive members are not delegates and are there to represent the area (see Join us for details of all the Institutes and the Area groups).


The General Purposes Committee comprises the three Officers of the Federation and the Chairman of each of the six Sub-Committees. The General Purposes Committee is responsible for the Federation finances and supervises all aspects of the financial management of the Federation.

Margaret Broome

Federation Chairman

Kathleen Verner

Federation Vice-Chairman

Sheelagh McRandal

Federation Treasurer


Chairman Heather Adamson

Balmoral  Sub-Committee
Inver Area

Chairman Lesley Dowds

Arts Sub-Committee
Scrabo Area

Chairman Brenda Richardson

Homecraft Sub-Committee
Rowallane Area


Chairman Teresa Feeney

Home and Garden Sub-Committee
Londonderry Area

Chairman Rhoda Farrelly

International Sub-Committee
Erne Area

Chairman Christine Rankin

Magazine and Leisure Sub-Committee
Ards Peninsula Area