Drama Festival 2016

Posted September 13, 2016 by WI Staff in Event Reports

The Drama Festival was held on Saturday 9th April 2016 in Mullavilly Parish Church Hall, Tandragee.

Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Carole Baird welcomed everyone. The ladies of Laurelvale WI kindly provided the delicious refreshments during the day. The adjudicator for the proceedings was Mr Neil McMaster who was very impressed with the high standard of the various performances. There were two entries in the sketch class and two one-act plays. Federation Vice-Chairman Beth Irwin presented the awards and Nancy Orr of the Arts Sub-Committee proposed the Vote of Thanks.


The prize winners were as follows:


Sketches (approximately 10 minutes in duration)

Overall Winner – Nancy Orr Trophy: Kells & Connor WI

Best Actress – Grace Cup: Rosemary McAllister, Kells & Connor WI

Best Costume – Unetta Burrell Cup: Mary Crothers, Kells & Connor WI

Best Producer – Dorothy Robb Salver: Donaghmore WI


One Act Plays (at least 20 minutes in length & not longer than 40 minutes)

First Overall Play – Ulster Cup: Armoy WI

Second Overall Play – Meg Adams Memorial Trophy: Muckamore WI

Best Producer – Robert Smith Trophy: Jennifer McLernon, Armoy WI

Best Overall Actress – Nan Whyte Trophy: Nuala Doran, Armoy WI

Best Costume In A Play – Cutherbertson Rose Bowl: Sharon Carson, Muckamore WI

Best Supporting Actress In A Play Written By A WI Member – Christina McKeown Memorial Trophy: Jean McCollum, Muckamore WI



Other Awards

Novice (Cast which has not won a trophy during the last five years) – Milk Marketing Board Trophy:       Donaghmore WI

Best Performance Of A Play/Sketch Written By A WI Member – May Mitchell Cup: Muckamore WI

Best moment of Theatre – North West Drama Trophy: Lynda Brown, Muckamore WI

Best Supporting Actress – Ivy Pentland Cup: Anne Patton, Armoy WI











The talented prize winners with their awards, pictured with adjudicator Neil McMaster, Federation Vice-Chairman Beth Irwin and Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Carole Baird, at the Drama Festival.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response