Drama Festival 2017

Posted August 29, 2017 by WI Staff in Event Reports

Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Carole Baird welcomed everyone to the annual Federation Drama Festival, held this year on Saturday 1st April in Mountjoy Presbyterian Church hall, Omagh. A special mention was made to Mrs Ita McVeigh B Ed, M Ed, NEA who adjudicated the event and to Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden and Federation Vice-Chairman Beth Irwin who were also in attendance.

The Festival was very well supported and the audience was thoroughly entertained with energetic performances by talented actors from the Muckamore, Armoy, Ballycarry, and Kells & Connor Institutes, with two plays and two sketches. The adjudicator was very impressed with the high standard and gave very detailed constructive advice. Throughout the day, the hall rang out with laughter as the actresses got into character and enthusiastically performed their parts.

Federation Chairman Elizabeth presented the trophies to all the worthy winners and thanked the Arts Sub-Committee for organising the event.

In conclusion, Sub-Committee member Helen proposed the Vote of Thanks to everyone, including the session of the church and the ladies who provided tea/coffee, delicious fresh scones and lunch.

Arts Chairman Carole endorsed all the previous thanks, wished everyone a safe journey home, and asked that they tell everyone about the enjoyable day they had. The Festival concluded in traditional WI style with a rousing rendition of A Countrywoman’s Song.

The prize winners were as follows:


Overall Winner – Nancy Orr Trophy: Ballycarry WI

Best Actress – Grace Cup: Linda McIlwaine, Ballycarry WI

Best Costume – Unetta Burrell Cup: Rosemary McAllister, Kells & Connor WI

Best Producer – Dorothy Robb Salver: Maureen Morrow, Ballycarry WI


One Act Plays

Overall winner – Ulster Cup: Armoy WI

Second Overall – Meg Adams Memorial Trophy: Muckamore WI

Best Producer – Robert Smith Trophy: Jennifer McLernon, Armoy WI

Best Overall Actress – Nan Whyte Trophy: Anne Patton, Armoy WI

Best Costume – Cutherbertson Rosebowl: Sharon Carson, Muckamore WI

Best Supporting Actress In A Play Written By A WI Member – Christina McKeown Memorial Trophy: Elizabeth Gray, Muckamore WI


Other Awards

Novice Play/Sketch (Cast which has not won a trophy during the last five years) – Milk Marketing Board Trophy:nBallycarry WI

Best Performance Of A Play/Sketch Written By A WI Member – May Mitchell Cup: Kells & Connor WI

Best moment of Theatre – North West Drama Trophy: Sharon Carson, Muckamore WI

Best Supporting Actress In Festival – Ivy Pentland Cup: Nuala Doran, Armoy WI

Ladies at the Drama Festival 2017

(Back row L-R): Isobel Nelson of Ballycarry WI, Maria Mewha of Kells & Connor WI, Elizabeth McAllister of Kells & Connor WI, Nuala Doran of Armoy WI, Anne Patton of Armoy WI, Jennifer McLernon of Armoy WI, Sharon Carson of Muckamore WI and Elizabeth Gray of Muckamore WI.

(Front row L-R): Maureen Morrow of Ballycarry WI, Linda McIlwaine of Ballycarry WI, Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden, adjudicator Ita McVeigh, Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Carole Baird, Arlene Thompson of Ballycarry WI and Anna Simms of Ballycarry WI.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response