Festival of the Spoken Word 2017

Posted November 30, 2017 by WI Staff in Event Reports

The Federation’s annual Festival of Spoken Word was held on Saturday 14th October 2017 in Ballygawley Presbyterian Church Hall, County Tyrone. Mr Paul Coote, Clerk of Session, warmly welcomed everyone to Ballygawley and handed the proceedings over to Carole Baird, Arts Sub-Committee Chairman.

The adjudicator was Geradine McGivern M.Ed., L.N.E.A.  All of the performers confidently took to the stage and held the audience captive with their delivery of an eclectic array of emphatic speeches and poetry. Geradine commented that she was very impressed by the amazing talent within the Women’s Institute. The caterers from Ballygawley provided delicious tea and scones with jam and fresh cream in the morning.  Hearty vegetable soup, wheaten bread and sandwiches were then served at lunchtime, followed by scrumptious tray bakes, tea and coffee.

Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden presented the awards to the winners and Kay Campbell proposed a comprehensive Vote of Thanks on behalf of the Arts Sub-Committee. All in all, it was very entertaining day and a wonderful showcase of WI talent. The afternoon closed in traditional style with the singing of A Countrywoman’s Song.


The award winners were:


Class 1 – Magherafelt Trophy – Prepared Speech

1st – Nancy Orr, Armoy WI

2nd – Edwina Marr, Downpatrick WI


Class 2 Armoy Trophy – Sight Reading

1st – Ellen McKenna, Donaghmore WI

2nd – Edwina Marr, Downpatrick WI


Class 3 – Lambeg Trophy – Poem by an Irish Poet

1st – Nancy Orr, Armoy WI

2nd – Elizabeth Patterson, Kilrea WI


Class 4 – Phillipine McCoy Trophy – Humorous Verse

1st – Pat Harrison, Richill WI

2nd – Anna Murphy, Kells & Connor WI


Class 5 – Aileen Chapman Trophy – Poem written by a WI Member

1st – Anna Murphy, Kells & Connor WI

2nd – Wilma Buick, Kells & Connor WI


Class 6 – Downpatrick Trophy – Prepared Prose

1st – Maud Steele, Kilrea WI

2nd – Patricia Gilchrist, Downpatrick WI


The talented award winners with Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Carole Baird, Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden and Federation Vice-Chairman Beth Irwin at the Festival of the Spoken Word 2017.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response