Festival of the Spoken Word 2018

Posted November 30, 2018 by WI Staff in Event Reports

The Arts Sub-Committee hosted the Festival of the Spoken Word in Second Saintfield Presbyterian Church on Saturday 13th October 2018.  Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Lesley Dowds opened the proceedings with her welcoming remarks. It proved to be an excellent Festival, with many and varied entries by talented members from Institutes across the province.

The adjudicator, Arthur Webb (M.A., B Ed., L.R.A.M), commented that the entries were so enjoyable and well presented. He also delivered a critique on presentation and delivery, sharing helpful advice for any future entrants.

Saintfield Women’s Institute members supplied morning coffee and scones, as well as a delicious soup and sandwich lunch.   Arts Sub-Committee member May Small delivered a comprehensive Vote of Thanks.  The afternoon concluded with very positive closing comments by Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Lesley Dowds and the singing of A Countrywoman’s Song.  It was a very entertaining day and a brilliant showcase of members’ talents.

Federation Chairman Collette Craig presented the awards as follows:

Class 1 – Magherafelt Trophy – Prepared Speech:  Nancy Orr, Armoy WI

Class 2 – Armoy Trophy – Sight ReadingLorraine Girvan, Downpatrick WI

Class 3 – Lambeg Trophy – Poem by an Irish PoetNancy Orr, Armoy WI

Class 4 – Phillipine McCoy Trophy – Humorous Verse:   Joan Ward, Crumlin WI

Class 5 – Aileen Chapman Trophy – Poem Written by a WI Member:  Jane Kilpatrick, Downpatrick WI

Class 6 – Downpatrick TrophyPrepared Prose: Lyn Campbell, Moneyrea WI


Pictured at the Festival of the Spoken Word, (Back row L-R): Prize winners Jane Kilpatrick of Downpatrick WI, Lorraine Girvan of Downpatrick WI, Joan Ward of Crumlin WI and Lyn Campbell of Moneyrea WI.

(Front row): Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Lesley Dowds, adjudicator Arthur Webb, Federation Chairman Collette Craig and prize winner Nancy Orr of Armoy WI.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response