Golf Competition 2014

Posted June 13, 2014 by WI Staff in Event Reports

On Monday 2nd June, twenty-nine enthusiastic golfers set off for the beautiful surroundings of Aughnacloy Golf Club.  They travelled from all over the province and nineteen Institutes were represented. The weather looked slightly ominous on the journey down but by the time the first group of ladies had enjoyed some much needed refreshments, the sky had thankfully turned brighter.

The golfers then made their way to the tee-boxes and duly commenced their rounds of golf at ten minute intervals.  After approximately four hours the first of the WI ladies returned to the Club House and were served delicious meals in the Club House restaurant.  With score cards submitted, and new friendships made, as well as old friendships renewed, the results were ready.

Magazine & Leisure Sub-Committee Chairman Roberta Hall opened the proceedings by thanking everyone for supporting the event and competing in such a sportsmanlike manner.  Roberta thanked the staff at Aughnacloy for the great welcome given to the ladies and she also expressed sincere thanks to Mr Sidney Houston, the Secretary/Manager of the Club, for whom nothing was too much trouble! The kitchen staff were thanked for preparing the delicious food and a fellow Augnacloy Committee member who was on the course, Mr Gordon Robinson, made sure that the organising Committee had everything they needed to make the day a success.  Finally Roberta then thanked the President and Mrs Belle Coote-Beatty, the Lady Captain, for allowing the WI to use their great facilities and for the donation of a prize.

Federation Chairman Margaret Collinson and Vice-Chairman Irene Craig had travelled down to join the ladies for this important annual event. Margaret Collinson presented the awards as follows:

Overall winner

1st (awarded the Milk Marketing Board Salver for ‘WI Golfer of the Year’) – Alice Kane, Myroe WI

2nd – Lorna Stevenson, Crossgar WI

3rd– Ann McCrea, Moneymore WI

Section 1

1st – Janet Gaston, Broughshane WI

2nd – Heather Baird, Islandmagee North WI

Section 2

1st – Christine Wilson, Myroe WI

2nd – Margaret Rainey, Fintona WI

Best Front 9

Katherine Mark, Myroe WI

Best Back 9

Margaret Nicholson, Caledon WI


Nearest the Pin

Christine Wilson, Myroe WI


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response