Lower Bann Area Spring Meeting 2014

Posted May 5, 2014 by Lowerbann in News

Lower Bann Area Spring meeting was held on Thursday 24th April 2014 in Englishtown Presbyterian ChurchHall, Macosquin, and was hosted by Aghadowey WI. Elizabeth Moon, Area Chairman and President of Kilrea WI, extended a warm welcome to 128 members from eight Institutes and also to the Guest Speaker, Mr Martyn Blair, President of the Young Farmers’ Clubs of Ulster.

Martyn entertained the audience with a power point presentation highlighting what goes on in the YFCU and drew many comparisons with Women’s Institutes. As a member of Finvoy YFC for 15 years, he spoke of his numerous experiences, travels, opportunities, and achievements, as well as being a busy beef and poultry farmer. Moira Irwin, President of Garvagh WI, gave a comprehensive Vote of Thanks to Martyn, and presented him with a small token of appreciation.

A delicious supper was then served by the ladies of Aghadowey WI.

Elizabeth Moon then introduced the platform party: Lower Bann Area Executive MemberAgnes Kennedy, who also serves onBalmoral and International Sub-Committees; Ann Laughlin Area Secretary,Kilrea WI;Sub-Committee Members, Helen Jamieson Arts, Irma KeeHomecraft, Dorothy Duffin Home and Garden, and Liz Houston Magazine and Leisure; Presidents Betty Kennedy Aghadowey WI, Moyra Lees Ballyrashane WI, Kathleen PreshaColeraine WI, Jean SherrardExorna WI, Moira Irwin Garvagh WI, Georgina Henry Macosquin WI, and Susan Lyons Portstewart WI.

The minutes of the 2013 meeting, having been circulated, were agreed and signed.

Institute Reports were given by Gwen Cochrane, Ballyrashane WI, Maud Steele Kilrea WI, Ann BiggartMacosquin WI and Alison Lamont Portstewart WI, all of which showed a wide variety of interests, speakers and activities in the area. Comprehensive reports were given by the Sub-Committee members and Agnes Kennedygave detailed reports from Executive,Balmoral and International.

Agnes Kennedy then presented the following Awards:

Lorna Walker Salver for Oils Novice – Joyce AllenMacosquin WI

Harbinson Trophy for 3D decoupage Open – Betty Holmes Garvagh WI

Gosford Trophy for 3D decoupage Novice – Jill SmithGarvagh WI

9 Craft Ribbons were presented: Irma KeeAghadowey WI – 3, Betty Kennedy Aghadowey WI – 1, Della Murphy Exorna WI – 1, Liz Barry Kilrea WI – 1, Vera Kennedy Macosquin WI – 1, Rose Watson Macosquin WI – 1, Ann McCaneMacosquin WI – 1.

Area Bowls Trophy was won by Joyce McLenaghanGarvagh WI

Runner-up Trophy by Marion Workman Aghadowey WI

Area Quiz Shield was presented to the Ballyrashane WI team of Margery Thompson, Gwen Cochrane, Hazel Stewart

Two Area Competitions, both judged by Pamela Mark, were presented:

Jubilee Rose Bowl for 8” crochet square – Rose Watson Macosquin WI;

Meta McAuleyCompetition for 5 flakemeal biscuits – Maureen Black Garvagh WI

Elizabeth Moon thanked all the ladies for their excellent reports and for their continued hard work and dedication, and congratulated the prizewinners. The entertainment took the form of an hilarious sketch by Portstewart WI entitled ‘The Committee Meeting’. Georgina Henry, President of Macosquin WI, gave a very comprehensive Vote of Thanks. A Countrywoman’s Song brought a most enjoyable evening to a close.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response