Music Festival 2015

Posted April 20, 2015 by WI Staff in Event Reports

Hillsborough Was Alive With The Sound Of Music!

On a lovely sunny day WI music enthusiasts headed to Hillsborough Presbyterian Church Hall for the Arts Sub-Committee’s annual Music Festival. The event was so well supported this year that extra chairs had to be brought in. Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Ethel Simpson welcomed everyone, including Federation Chairman Margaret Collinson. She also gave a special welcome to the adjudicator Sheelagh Greer BMus, ATCL, Dip ABRSM, Mezzo Soprano.

It was great to welcome two new choirs, Crumlin and Clogher Valley Area, together with a new young soloist from Kells & Connor WI. Throughout the day the level of talent was so high, both with choirs and soloists. The adjudicator praised everyone on the standard and gave very constructive advice. After a very enjoyable day of music and meeting old and new friends, Arts Chairman Ethel announced the winners, while Federation Chairman Margaret presented the trophies. A Vote of Thanks was presented by Arts Sub-Committee member Roberta Mathers, to not only the participants and audience, but also the church caterers for providing delicious tea/coffee and lunch. In closing Margaret thanked Ethel and her Committee for organising such a successful day and Ethel thanked everyone for their support, wishing everyone a safe journey home. The day closed with one more final rousing rendition- the singing of A Countrywoman’s Song.

The award winners were:

*Isobel Rainey Cup (Novice Choir) – Clogher Valley Area


*Burgess Trophy (Fireside Chorus) – Armoy WI


*Alice Chestnutt Shield (Choral Folk) – Quoile Area


*Ballyrogan Slaver (Choral Sacred) – Slemish Area


*Carrickfergus Cup (Ensemble 12 voices and over) – Quoile Area


*Priory Cup (Ensemble 5-12 voices) – Ballyblack WI


*Doreen Young Cup (Untrained Soprano Soloist) – Nuala Doran, Armoy WI


*Havelock Nelson Medal (Contralto Untrained) – Valerie Huey, Armoy WI


*Ann Getgood Salver (Soprano Solo Trained) – Margaret Taylor, Downpatrick WI


*Sam Henry Cup (Solo Folk) – Margaret Taylor, Downpatrick WI


*Arts Sub-Committee Cup (Song from a Musical) – Rebecca Foster, Kells & Connor WI


*Deborah Horan Trophy (Best Overall) – Quoile Area


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response