Music Festival 2016

Posted April 22, 2016 by WI Staff in Event Reports

Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden, adjudicator Barry Burgess and Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Carole Baird.


WI Ladies Hit The High Notes!

The annual Federation Music Festival was held on Saturday 12th March in Macosquin Presbyterian Church Hall, near Coleraine. Ten choirs and numerous soloists had travelled from across the province to compete and everyone was welcomed by Arts Sub-Committee Chairman, Carole Baird. The adjudicator for the day was Mr Barry Burgess who had the unenviable job of choosing between the myriad of performances in the six choral classes and five solo classes. Barry’s comments were helpful, encouraging and constructive.  He thanked the choirs, soloists and accompanists for their hard work, rehearsing and preparing for the Festival.  The Macosquin WI ladies provided tea, coffee and scones on arrival in the morning and also a scrumptious soup and sandwich lunch followed by traybakes. Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden presented the awards to the talented prize winners.  Ellen McKenna from the Arts Sub-Committee proposed the Vote of Thanks.


The winners were:


*Best Overall Performance – Deborah Horan Trophy

Quoile Area


*Novice Choir – Isobel Rainey Cup

1st – Lower Bann Area

2nd – Crumlin WI



*Fireside Chorus – Burgess Cup

1st – Armoy WI

2nd – Lower Bann Area


*Choral Folk – Alice Chestnutt Shield

1st – Clogher Valley Area

Joint 2nd – Quoile Area & Ballyblack WI


*Choral Sacred – Ballyrogan Salver

1st – Quoile Area

2nd – Ballyblack WI


*Choral 12+ Voices – Carrickfergus Cup

1st – Quoile Area

2nd – Ballyblack WI


*Choral 2-12 Voices – Priory Cup

1st – Ballyblack WI

Joint 2nd – Crumlin WI & Quoile Area


*Soprano Solo (Untrained) – Doreen Young Cup

1st – Nuala Doran, Armoy WI

2nd – Elizabeth Lemon, Ballyblack WI


*Contralto Solo (Untrained) – Havelock Nelson Medal

1st – Anne Patton, Armoy WI

2nd – Valerie Huey, Armoy WI


*Soprano Solo (Trained) – Ann Getgood Salver

1st – Jayne Martin, Ballyblack WI

2nd – Muriel Smyth, Portaferry WI


*Solo Song From A Musical – Arts Sub-Committee Cup

1st – Iris Walker, Killyleagh WI

2nd – Jayne Martin, Ballyblack WI


*Solo Folk Song – Sam Henry Cup

1st – Iris Walker, Killyleagh WI

2nd – Jacqueline McMurdie, Glenanne WI









The Quoile Area Choir, overall winners at the Music Festival.











The Armoy WI Fireside Chorus











The Clogher Valley Area Choir.










Ballyblack WI Choir.










Lower Bann Area Choir.










Portaferry WI Choir.








Ranfurly Area Choir.


Slemish Area







Slemish Area Choir.













Crumlin WI Choir.













Richhill WI Choir.

















Nuala Doran of Armoy WI.













Jayne Martin of Ballyblack WI.

















Iris Walker of Killyleagh WI.


Valerie Huey Armoy











Valerie Huey, Armoy WI.

















Anne Patton of Armoy WI receiving the Havelock Nelson Medal from Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden.













Adjudicator Barry Burgess and Arts Sub-Committee member Eileen Mol of Broughshane WI.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response