Music Festival 2022

Posted May 27, 2022 by WI Staff in Event Reports
🎵🎤 Templepatrick Presbyterian Church Hall was alive with the sound of music on Saturday 21st May…
After a hiatus since 2019, due to the pandemic, our WI singers were delighted to be back for the Federation’s Music Festival 2022! 
Entries were understandably down in numbers a little this year, but we had more than enough talent to put on a performance – with choirs, soloists, trained voices, untrained, contralto, alto, songs from a show, and themes ranging from Singing for Pleasure, Choral, Folk and Sacred!
Mr Sam Murray was the expert adjudicator on the day and after all the participants had performed he gave considered, professional and encouraging critiques. In his closing remarks he congratulated all the entrants on achieving a very high standard – and encouraged everyone to keep on singing!

The Templepatrick WI ladies had kindly provided all attendees with morning coffee and delicious scones.

The vote of thanks was given by Arts Sub-Committee member Marie Darrah and closing remarks by Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Lesley Dowds, who congratulated all entrants on the high standard of work submitted for the competition and proposed a vote of thanks to all those who made the event so enjoyable.

The afternoon finished in traditional WI style with the singing of A Countrywoman’s Song.


Federation Chairman Margaret Broome presented the awards to the talented prize winners as follows:


~ Deborah Horan Trophy (*Best Overall*) – Richill WI ~

Class 1 – Burgess trophy (Sing for Pleasure – own choice) – Kells & Connor WI

Class 3 – Alice Chestnutt Shield (Choral Folk – own choice) – Ballyblack WI

Class 4 – Ballyrogan Salver (Choral Sacred) – Ballyblack WI

Class 5 – Carrickfergus Cup (Ensemble 12 voices +) – Ballyblack WI & Quoile Area

Class 6 – Priory Cup (Ensemble 5-12 voices) – Ballyblack WI

Class 7 – Crystal Bowl (Intermediate, for any choir that hasn’t won any choral class during the last 3 years) – Slemish Area

Class 8 – Joan Norman Rosebowl (Ensemble 2-4 voices) – Ballyblack WI

Class 10 – Havelock Nelson Medal (Contralto untrained) – Kerrie Mumford, Ballyblack WI

Class 11 – Award for Alto Trained – Margaret Taylor, Downpatrick WI

Class 13 – Sam Henry Cup (Solo Folk – own choice) – Margaret Taylor, Downpatrick WI & Hazel Campbell, Crumlin WI

Class 14 – Arts Sub-Committee Cup (Song from a Show – own choice) – Hazel Campbell, Crumlin WI



📸 Here are some snapshots of our talented performers and award winners on the day…

(Thanks to Maureen Lindsay from the Arts Sub-Committee for taking all the photos!😉)



Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response