Quoile Area Spring Meeting 2019

Posted May 10, 2019 by Quoile in Local Areas

Quoile Area Spring Meeting

The Spring Area Meeting was held on 30th April 2019 in Seaforde Young Farmers Hall We were given a very warm welcome from our hosts Seaforde. W.I. Area Chairman Mrs Nora Lennon, President of Crossgar, presided and welcomed us all, especially Our Executive member Mrs. Edwina Marr, guest speaker Mr. Brian Gault and his wife May.

All Area Institutes were represented and reports were given by Ardglass, Crossgar, Downpatrick and Killinchy. Sub-committee reports were given by Arts, Mrs Margaret Broom, Balmoral, Mrs Annabel Clelland,Choir, Mrs Geraldine Gray and Mrs Edwina Marr on behalf of Homecraft Home and Garden, Magazine and Leisure and International. Edwina also gave the Federation report.


We were first entertained by a delightful youth group from Annalong who gave us renditions of traditional singing and instrumental numbers.

Mr. Brian Gault related his life story as a Thalidomide victim. It was lively, funny, challenging and moving. He told us of his work worldwide to provide practical support and help raise awareness of the plight of children who are still born with Thalidomide-related disabilities. Royalties from the sale of his book and jewellery made by ladies from Uganda go towards funding his work. A delicious supper was served by the Seaforde ladies and then came the eagerly awaited competition results.

The Area competitions were awarded as follows—–

Pearl Shaw Cup……………Crossgar W.I.

Nora Lennon Cup —–4 Butterfly Buns

1st Babs Bassett—-Ardglass W.I.

2nd Lorraine Bothwell—-Seaforde W.I.

3rd Margaret McCall——Seaforde W.I.

Joan Shanks Cup —–Knitted Tea Cosy

1st Fiona Patterson —-Spa W.I.

2nd Liz Patterson ——-SpaW.I.

3rd Rose Allen————Annalong W.I.

Petals & Pots Cup —Arrangement in Cream/Milk Jug

1st Lorraine Bothwell —–Seaforde W.I.

2nd Fiona Patterson ——Spa W,I.

3rd Patricia McNeill——–Spa W.I.

Awards gained at Federation Level

Armoy Trophy ——–Lorraine Girvan Downpatrick W.I.

Eileen Chapman Trophy —Jane Kilpatrick Downpatrick W.I.

Gosford Trophy ——-Rose Allen Annalong W.I.

Ballyrogan Shield —–Quoile Choir

Deborah Horan Trophy —–Quoile Choir

Carrickfergus Cup——-Quoile Choir

Sam Henry Cup——- Margaret Taylor Dowpatrick W.I.

Runner-up in the Bowls—–Lorna Stevenson Crossgar W.I.

A sincere vote of thanks was given by Avril Thompson Ardglass W.I.

After the singing of the Country Women’s Song we were wished a safe journey home by Chairperson Mrs Nora Lennon



Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response