Rowallane Area Spring Meeting

Posted August 8, 2014 by WI Staff in Local Areas

The Rowallane Area Meeting was held in Knockbreda Parish Church Hall at the end of April. The Area Chairman, Mary Dalzell, welcomed members to the meeting with a special welcome to Federation Chairman Margaret Collinson who was the guest speaker.  Federation Vice-Chairman and Moyallen Area Executive Member Irene Craig called the roll.  There were reports from the following Sub-Committees- Arts (Kay Campbell), Homecraft (Linda Bryce), Home & Garden (June Beer), International (Agnes Black) and Magazine & Leisure (Linda Peak).  Irene Craig then  gave a report on the Balmoral Sub-Committee and the Federation Report.

Area Trophies were presented by Margaret Collinson to the following winners:

Area Bowls – Josephine Copes, Saintfield WI

Area Quiz – Moneyrea WI

Cookery Competition – Pamela Abram, Carryduff WI

Craft – Jennifer Skelly, Moneyrea WI

Floral Art – Rhona McKeown, Boardmills WI

Federation Trophy – Macausland Rosebowl for Institute of the Year – Moneyrea WI

Margaret Collinson gave an interesting talk on her many experiences when she was President of RUAS and discussed being a member of the Royal Agricultural Society of the Commonwealth when she travelled to many commonwealth countries. She told everyone about her lunch with the Queen at Windsor Castle when she sat beside the Duke of Edinburgh and the corgies were below the table. In 2012 Margaret was presented with the Fellowship of the R.A.S.C. by Princess Anne when she attended a conference in Zambia. Supper was served by Newtownbreda WI and Boardsmills WI provided the entertainment. The Vote of Thanks was given by Joan Crothers from Carryduff WI. The evening closed with a rendition of A Countrywoman’s Song.



Moneyrea WI – Institute of the Year 2013-2014






Entries for the Floral Arrangement in a Teacup







Entries for the Craft Competition – A Doorstop (any medium)






Entries for the Baking Competition – 4 Almond Slices


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response