Festival of the Spoken Word 2014

Posted November 13, 2014 by WI Staff in Event Reports

Pictured are the award winners- In the back row (L-R):  Joan Ward of Crumlin WI, Anna Murphy of Kells & Connor WI, Ellen McKenna of Donaghmore WI, Edwina Marr of Downpatrick WI and Elizabeth Gray of Muckamore WI. Pictured in the front row (L-R): The Adjudicator Patricia Mulligan ATCL, TD, GMNEA, MSTSD, MADCI, Award winner Doris Scovell of Downpatirck WI, Federation Chairman Margaret Collinson and Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Ethel Simpson.


On Saturday 1st November 2014 The Festival of the Spoken Word was held in Richhill Presbyterian Church Halls. This event was organised by the Arts Sub-Committee and was well supported with seventy-three entries in six classes.

Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Ethel Simpson welcomed everyone including Federation Chairman Margaret Collinson, Vice-Chairman Irene Craig and a special welcome was extended to the Adjudicator Mrs Patricia Mulligan, ATCL, TD, GMNEA, MSTSD, MADCI.

After a day of listening to very talented WI ladies reciting poems and reading prose ranging from humorous to sincere, everyone expressed their satisfaction at such an enjoyable day.

Federation Chairman Margaret Collinson then presented the trophies to the worthy winners and congratulated them on their achievements.

In the Vote of Thanks Roberta expressed appreciation to all of the participants for entertaining everyone so well, to the audience for coming to support them, to the Adjudicator for her excellent judging and helpful remarks, to the Session of Richhill Presbyterian Church for the use of their luxurious halls, and to Richhill WI for providing delicious tea, coffee, scones and lunch.  This was all endorsed by Margaret and Ethel.

The winners were as follows:

Class 1: Magherafelt Trophy for Prepared Speech

1st – Elizabeth Gray, Muckamore WI

Joint 2nd – Pat Harrison, Richhill WI; Ellen McKenna, Donaghmore WI

Class 2: Armoy Trophy for Sight Reading

1st – Doris Scovell, Downpatrick WI

Joint 2nd – Ellen McKenna, Donaghmore WI; Kathleen Moore, Ballievey WI

Class 3: Lambeg Trophy for Poem by an Irish Poet

1st – Joan Ward, Crumlin WI

Joint 2nd – Roberta Mathers, Ballievey WI; Vera Niblock, Ballyblack WI

Highly Commended – Maud Steele, Kilrea Wi; Jean Crawford Aughnacloy WI; Kathleen Moore, Ballievey WI

Class 4: Phillipine McCoy Trophy for Humorous Verse

1st – Anna Murphy, Kells & Connor WI

Joint 2nd – Kathleen Moore, Ballievey WI; Maud Steele, Kilrea WI; Ann Patterson, Crossgar WI

Highly Commended – Pat Harrison, Richhill Wi & Kate Adams, Richhill WI

Class 5: Aileen Chapman Trophy for Poem Written by a WI Member

1st – Ellen McKenna, Donaghmore WI

Joint 2nd – Maud Steele, Kilrea WI; Doreen Brown, Moneymore WI; Kathleen Moore, Ballievey WI

Highly Commended – Anna Murphy, Kells & Connor WI; Joan Ward, Crumlin WI

Class 6: Downpatrick Trophy for Prepared Prose

1st – Edwina Marr, Downpatrick Wi

Joint 2nd – Doris Scovell, Downpatrick WI; Kathleen Moore, Ballievey WI

Highly Commended – Elizabeth Patterson, Kilrea WI; Roberta Mathers, Ballievey WI



Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response