The Federation of Women's Institutes of Northern Ireland



Annual General Meeting

Europa Hotel, Belfast



Thursday, 28th March 2024 11:00am – 4:15pm

Morning Session

11:00am – 12:30pm

Welcome	Margaret Broome (Federation Chairman)
Announcements and Apologies	Mary McManus (Operations Manager)
Flowers	Lorna McClure (Riada Area Executive)

Areas

Abercorn	Lower Bann
Ards Peninsula	Moyallen
Clogher Valley	Quoile
Erne	Ranfurly
Gosford	Riada
Inver	Roe Valley
lveagh	Rowallane
Knockagh	Scrabo
Lagan	Slemish
Lisnagarvey	Sperrin
Londonderry	

Minutes – As no amendments have been received, the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2023 will now be signed by the Federation Chairman.

Introduction of New Executive Committee Members – Margaret Broome (Federation Chairman)

Presentation of Badges to outgoing Executive Committee Members – Margaret Broome (Federation Chairman)

Sub-Committee Reports	Reports have been printed and a copy attached.
Treasurer's Report	Sheelagh McRandal (Federation Treasurer)
Seconding the Financial Report	Ruth Carroll (Ranfurly Area Executive)
Federation Report	Margaret Broome (Federation Chairman)
Resolutions	Kathleen Verner (Federation Vice-Chairman)

Resolutions

Federation Membership Fees

After careful consideration, the Executive Committee proposes that Federation fees be increased from £20.00 to £25.00 with effect from 1st September 2024. FWINI has been operating at a deficit for the past two years as the fees have not kept pace with the rate of inflation. This increase is required to ensure that the organisation's income is sufficient to meet its expenditure.

Proposed: Sheelagh McRandal (Federation Treasurer)

Seconded: Christine Rankin (Ards Peninsula Area Executive)

Limited Company

Presentation by Andrew Talbott (Managing Partner, Collaboration Ireland)

The Executive Committee proposes that the Federation changes its legal status and becomes a Limited Company. This would ensure that the Trustees are not personally liable if something goes wrong, provided they have acted within the law and reasonably, and comply with the requirements of some funders.

Proposed: Sheelagh McRandal (Federation Treasurer)

Seconded: Brenda Richardson (Rowallane Area Executive)

Prescriptions

In light of the cost and availability of prescription drugs, Ballywalter WI proposes that when a patient is prescribed a new long-term drug, only a small amount should be issued to the patient in case of reaction. The remainder to be held back by the pharmacy as unused drugs cannot be returned for further use.

Proposed by: Angela Martin (Ballywalter WI) Seconded by: Ina Watson (Maghaberry WI)

Presentation of new FWINI Website – Sheelagh McRandal (Federation Treasurer)

Lunch 12:45pm – 2:00pm

Afternoon Session

2:15pm – 4:15pm

Welcome Margaret Broome (Federation Chairman)

Greetings from our guests

The Rt, Hon. the Lord Mayor of Belfast, Councillor Ryan Murphy

Hilda Roche, National President – Irish Country Women's Association

Linda McTurk, Board Member – Scottish Women's Institutes

Ann Jones, Chair – National Federation of Women's Institutes

John Henning, President – Royal Ulster Agricultural Society

Stuart Mills, President – Young Farmers Clubs of Ulster

Jacqui McLoughlin – Women's Forum NI

Kay Simpson, Northern Ireland Chair – Townswomen's Guilds

Guest Speaker – Anne Harper – 'Women in Myth and Music'

Anne Harper is a musician and storyteller from County Down. She is passionate about heritage, folklore and the environment; and it was this that drew her into the realm of storytelling. A multi-instrumentalist and composer, Anne is inspired by the ancient Bardic tradition, weaving the evocative sound of the harp (and other instruments) into her performances. From timeless ingredients, Anne creates a fresh, magical mixture of myth and music which resonates strongly in the modern world.'



Margaret Broome (Federation Chairman)

Kathleen Verner (Federation Vice-Chairman)

HOMECRAFT:	
Doreen Dawson Cup (Team entry of 3 different crafts)	Ballymoney WI (Joanne Campbell, Tanya Everett & Florence Gregg)
Greenisland Cup (Institute gaining the greatest number of grade A awards in proportion to the number of members during the year)	Ballymoney WI
Etta Stewart Cup (Best entry of craftwork exclusive of cup winning entries)	Tanya Everett, Ballymoney WI
Emily Bossence Tray (Gold Award holders)	Tanya Everett, Ballymoney WI
Peggy Adams Memorial Trophy (White embroidery)	Tanya Everett, Ballymoney WI
Burnside Trophy (Irish crochet, tatting or knitted lace)	Florence Gregg, Ballymoney WI
Hilda Stewart Trophy (Limerick, Carrickmacross or bobbin lace)	Florence Gregg, Ballymoney WI
Isobel Lusk Cup (Knitting)	Florence Gregg, Ballymoney WI
Janet Jones Trophy (Modern or unusual craft not included in the Homecraft Syllabus)	Anne Martin, Ballievey WI
Brookeborough Trophy (Novice team entry of 3 different crafts)	Crumlin WI (Eilish Grant, Pat Parkes & Joan Ward)
Clanabogan Cup (Team knitting)	Crumlin WI (Eilish Grant, Pat Parkes & Joan Ward)
Olive Kane Cup (Wool embroidery)	Kate Kenndy, Cullybackey WI
Coey II Cup (Embroidery on linen, canvas or similar fabric)	Anne Hunter, Maghaberry WI
Thelma Goldring Trophy (Best individual item)	Anne Hunter, Maghaberry WI
Roe Valley Trophy (Full Circle holders)	Davida Irvine, Moira WI
Emily Blair Trophy (For restricted ability)	Jane Laverick, Newtownbreda WI
Full Circle Award:	
Diana Thompson, Ballyclare WI	

Gold Spinning Wheel Award:	
Pamela Spiers, Ballievey WI	
Kerrie Mumford, Ballyblack WI	
Tanya Everett, Ballymoney WI	
Lorraine McGaughey, Kilrea WI	

INTERNATIONAL:	
Mary Boyd Trophy (Mary Boyd Competition 2023 – 'Create a shoe bag for travelling purposes' – 1st Place)	Christine Rankin, Donaghadee WI
Margaret McMillan Bowl – (Mary Boyd Competition 2023 – 2nd Place)	Ann Eccleston, Jerrettspass WI
MAGAZINE AND LEISURE:	
Mourne Cup (Best poem written by a WI member published in the <i>Ulster Countrywoman</i> magazine during the previous calendar year)	Hazel Campbell, Crumlin WI
Quoile Trophy (Best overall <i>Ulster Countrywoman</i> magazine cover photograph published during the previous calendar year)	Heather Freestone, Portglenone WI
Phyllis Gailey Trophy (Literary Competition – 1st Place)	Jennifer Gardiner, Kilrea WI
Waringstown Cup (Scrapbook Competition – Open class – 1st Place)	Broughshane WI
Carryduff Cup (Scrapbook Competition – <i>Novice</i> class – 1st Place)	Spa WI
Crystal Cup (Scrapbook Competition – <i>Front Cover</i> class – 1st Place)	Spa WI
Crystal Cup (Scrapbook Competition – <i>Single Page</i> class – 1st Place)	Spa WI

Vote of Thanks

Lynd Roper, Gosford Area Executive

Closing Remarks

Margaret Broome (Federation Chairman)