Arts Festival 2016

Posted March 9, 2016 by WI Staff in Event Reports

On Friday 12th February 2016, Federation House was filled to capacity for the Arts Festival Coffee Morning when members had the opportunity, not only to enjoy the delicious food available, but to view the wonderful array of paintings, collage, calligraphy and good handwriting entries submitted for this year’s Arts Festival Competitions. Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Carole Baird welcomed everyone and introduced Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden. Carole congratulated all the entrants on the very high standard of work submitted and on the wonderful display of autumnal pieces of art which were all produced by talented WI ladies. Carole concluded by thanking everyone who had contributed to the success of the day. The winners in each of the categories were presented with their trophies by Elizabeth Warden, following which the draw for the many raffle prizes took place.

The full list of prize winners is as follows:


*Jean Hughes TrophyBest Overall Painting: Janne Patton, Armoy WI


*Mabel Johnston SalverAcrylics:
1st – Maureen Gray, Leckpatrick WI
2nd – Isobel Whittle, Dungannon WI
3rd – Nita Hutchinson, Lisnaskea WI
Highly Commended – Joan Bell, Kesh WI



*Moorcroft SalverAny Other Medium:
1st – Hilary McClean, Drumahoe WI
2nd – Iris Walker, Killyleagh WI
3rd – Margaret Jordan, Drumbeg WI

*Phyllis Ennis CupOils (Open):
1st – Janne Patton, Armoy WI
2nd – Lily Kennedy, Macosquin WI
3rd – Lily Swinson, Macosquin WI
Highly Commended – Betty Lindsay, Gracehill & Galgorm WI



*Lorna Walker SalverOils (Novice):
1st – Elizabeth Gowdy, Newtownbreda WI
2nd – Margaret Johnston, Annahilt WI
3rd – Angeline McNeill, Coleraine WI


*Logan SalverWatercolours (Open):
1st – Helen Galway, Ballysallagh WI
2nd – Eleanor McIlroy, CullybackeyWI
3rd – Reta Gilmore, Cladymilltown WI

Highly Commended – Isobel Whittle, Dungannon WI

*Joy Swann SalverWatercolours (Novice):
1st – Maureen Rutter, Lenaderg WI
2nd – Eleanor McIlroy, Cullybackey WI
3rd – Agnes Kennedy, Macosquin WI

*Gosford TrophyCollage:
1st – Doreen Patton, Mosside WI
2nd – Eileen Richmond, Macosquin WI
3rd – Eleanor McIlroy, Cullybackey WI

*Pringle CupCalligraphy (Open):
1st – Barbara McGibben, Upper Finaghy WI
2nd – Helen Palmer, Newtownbreda WI
3rd – Roberta O’Brien, Beragh WI



*Jacqui Brachi ShieldCalligraphy (Novice):
1st – Maureen Brown, Eglinton WI
2nd – Evelyn Armstrong, Beragh WI



*Stedfast SalverGood Handwriting (Open):
1st – Olivia Nutt, Eglinton WI
2nd – Eileen White, Mosside WI
3rd – Eleanor Johnston, Ballyblack WI



*Newtownbreda TrophyGood Handwriting (Novice):
1st – Clare Barfoot, Moneyreagh WI
2nd – Margaret Munro, Ballysallagh WI
3rd – Jacqueline Scott, Moneyragh WI





















Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden presenting the talented Janne Patton of Armoy WI with the prestigious Jean Hughes Trophy for the best overall painting.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response