Drama Festival 2019

Posted May 22, 2019 by WI Staff in Event Reports

Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Lesley Dowds welcomed a large audience to the annual Federation Drama Festival, on Saturday 13th April in Macosquin Presbyterian Chruch Hall, Coleraine, Co. Londonderry.

Five Institutes – Armoy WI, Ballygrainey WI, Crumlin WI, Downpatrick WI and Kells & Connor WI -entered the Sketch class and Muckamore WI entered the class for a One-Act Play.

The adjudicator was Geradine McGivern B.Ed M.Ed LNEA.  Geradine was impressed with the talented actresses on stage and the variety of themes explored in the sketches and the play.  Many interesting characters were featured, including a clairvoyant/palmist, an Australian visitor/relative arriving home, a dating agency, a ‘mammy’s boy’ and a ladies boutique shop, to name but a few!

Geraldine also offered lots of constructive advice and stressed the importance of detail.

The ladies of Macosquin WI provided tea, coffee and scones in the morning and a delicious soup lunch with sandwiches and wheaten bread, then tray bakes, tea and coffee at lunch time. WI home cooking at its best!

Lower Bann Area Executive Member Helen Jamieson presented the awards in the absence of Federation Chairman Colette Craig.  Helen congratulated the Institutes who took part and commented on how much she enjoyed the day.

Nancy Orr of the Arts Sub-Committee proposed the Vote of Thanks and a wonderful day’s entertainment ended in traditional WI style with the singing of A Country Woman’s Song.


The prize winners were as follows:



Nancy Orr Trophy – Overall Winner: Armoy WI

Grace Cup – Best Actress: Hazel Minford, Crumlin WI

Unetta Burrell Cup – Best Costume: Rosemary McAllister, Kells & Connor WI

Dorothy Robb Salver – Best Producer: Nancy Orr, Armoy WI


One-Act Play:

Ulster Cup – Overall winner: Muckamore WI

Nan Whyte Trophy – Best Overall Actress: Sharon Carson, Muckamore WI

Christina McKeown Memorial Cup – Best Supporting Actress: Irene McCullough, Muckamore WI

Robert Smyth Trophy – Best Producer: Elizabeth Gray, Muckamore WI

Cuthbertson Rosebowl – Best Costume: Colette Meenan, Muckamore WI


Other Awards:

North West Drama Trophy – Best Moment of Theatre: Ballygrainey WI

May Mitchell Trophy – Best Performance of Play or Sketch (written by a WI member): Elizabeth Gray, Muckamore WI

Milk Marketing Board Trophy – Best Novice Play or Sketch: Crumlin WI

Ivy Pentland Cup – Best Supporting Actress in the Festival: Jean McCollam, Muckamore WI


Pictured at the Drama Festival 2019 – (L-R back row): Rosemary McAllister of Kells & Connor WI, Diane Leitch and Paula Murphy, both of Ballygrainey WI, Irene McCullough of Muckamore WI, Hazel Minford and Cherith Wilson, both of Crumlin WI, and Sandra Carson of Muckamore WI.

(L-R front row): Colette Meenan and Elizabeth Gray, both of Muckamore WI, Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Lesley Dowds, adjudicator Geradine McGivern, Lower Bann Area Executive Member Helen Jamieson, Nancy Orr of Armoy WI and Jean McCollam of Muckamore WI.




Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response