Arts Festival 2018 – ‘Our Wonderful World!’

Posted May 24, 2018 by WI Staff in Event Reports

Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Carole Baird warmly welcomed everyone to the annual Arts Festival Coffee Morning, held at WI HQ, Federation House, Belfast on Friday 16th February 2018.  The theme for the competitions this year was ‘Our Wonderful World’ – deliberately quite an open title and there were varying interpretations of this theme depicted in the beautiful artwork on display. The Conference Room was adorned with an array of stunning, colourful, eye-catching entries – a total of 109 submitted from ladies all over the province.

There were 60 entries in the Painting section, 5 entries for 3D Decoupage, 10 entries in the Calligraphy classes and 34 entries in the Good Handwriting competitions. It was wonderful to see this magnificent showcase of the creative talent within the organisation.

WI HQ was a hive of activity as ladies gathered to marvel at the gallery of work on display and the aroma of freshly brewed coffee, tea and scrumptious tray bakes, scones and goodies filled the air.

Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden presented the awards to the talented prize winners in the Painting, 3D Decoupage, Calligraphy and Good Handwriting competitions. After the presentation of the trophies, a successful raffle was held which saw many lucky ladies winning wonderful prizes.

Carole Baird congratulated all the entrants on the very high standard of work submitted for the competitions and proposed a Vote of Thanks to all those who had helped to make the event so enjoyable. She concluded by thanking everyone who had contributed to the success of the day.


The full list of prize winners is as follows:


*Jean Hughes Trophy – Best Overall Painting: Janne Patton, Armoy WI


*Mabel Johnston SalverAcrylics (Open):

1st – Margaret Johnstone, Annahilt WI

2nd – Isobel Whittle, Dungannon WI

3rd – Lesley Dowds, Ballysallagh WI


*Jean Blair Trophy – Acrylics (Novice):

1st – Jean Gregg, Dollingstown WI

2nd – Doris Campbell, Drumbeg WI

3rd – Patsy Hackett, Ballysallagh WI


*Moorcroft Salver – Any Other Medium:

1st – Eleanor McIlroy, Cullybackey WI


*Phyllis Ennis Cup – Oils (Open):

1st – Janne Patton, Armoy WI

2nd – Deirdre Cochrane, Ballyblack WI

3rd – Lily Swinson, Macosquin WI


*Lorna Walker Salver – Oils (Novice):

1st – Iris Causey, Desertcreat WI

2nd – Maureen McKay, Macosquin WI

3rd – Elizabeth Cleland, Crossgar WI


*Logan Salver – Watercolour (Open):                          

1st – Deborah Smyth, Crossgar WI

2nd – Deirdre Cochcrane, Ballyblack WI

3rd – Iris Walker, Downpatrick WI


*Joy Swann Salver – Watercolour (Novice):

1st – Jean Blair, Ballysallagh WI

2nd – Vivian Wright, Macosquin WI

3rd – Lesley Bridgett, Ravarnette WI


*Harbinson Trophy – 3D Decoupage (Open):

1st – Evelyn Trimble, Annalong WI

2nd – Betty Holmes, Garvagh WI


*Gosford Trophy – 3D Decoupage (Novice):

1st – Evelyn McQuillan, Moneymore WI

2nd – Barbara McGibben, Upper Finaghy WI

3rd – Christine Brown, Garvagh WI

Highly Commended – Jennifer Skelly, Monerea WI


*Pringle Cup – Calligraphy (Open):

1st – Olivia Nutt, Eglinton WI

2nd – Barbara McGibben, Upper Finaghy WI

3rd – Eileen White, Mosside WI

Highly Commended: Margaret Stokes, Carrickfergus WI

Highly Commended: Jennifer Skelly, Moneyrea WI


*Jacqui Brachi Shield – Calligraphy (Novice):

1st – Evelyn McQuillan, Moneymore WI

2nd – Anne Galway, Ballysallagh WI

3rd – Jennifer Lockhart, Portrush WI


*Stedfast Salver – Good Handwriting (Open):

1st – Margaret Munro, Ballysallagh WI

2nd – Eileen White, Mosside WI

3rd – Olivia Nutt, Eglinton WI

Highly Commended – Margaret Johnston, Annahilt WI

Highly Commended – Jennifer Skelly, Moneyrea WI


*Newtownbreda Trophy – Good Handwriting (Novice):

1st – Evelyn McQuillan, Moneymore WI

2nd – Annie Cuddy, Pomeroy WI

3rd – Laura McAleese, Moneyrea WI

Highly Commended Margaret Stokes, Caarrickfergus WI

Highly Commended – Janet Reid, Killyman WI



Pictured at the Arts Festival Coffee Morning 2018:

(Back Row L-R): Margaret Munro of Ballysallagh WI, Iris Causey of Desertcreat WI, Evelyn McQuillan of Moneymore WI, Olivia Nutt of Eglinton WI, Jean Blair of Ballysallagh WI, Jean Gregg of Dollingstown WI and Deborah Smyth of Crossgar WI.

(Front Row L-R): Margaret Johnston of Annahilt WI, Overall winner Janne Patton of Armoy WI, Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden, Arts Sub-Committee Chairman Carole Baird, Evelyn Trimble of Annalong WI and Eleanor McIlroy of Cullybackey WI.


Ladies admiring the paintings on display.


A selection of some of the beautiful paintings in the Oil Novice category.



 Striking artwork in the Acrylics Open category.




Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response