Speech Festival 2012

Posted January 17, 2013 by WI Staff in Event Reports

The Federation of Women’s Institutes Arts Sub-Committee held their annual Speech Festival in St Andrew’s Hall, Killyman, on Saturday 3rd November 2012. On a beautiful crisp autumnal day the Committee chairman welcomed everyone to this enjoyable event. She especially welcomed the Federation Chairman Margaret Collinson, Vice-Chairman Irene Craig and in particular the adjudicator Margaret McAliskey, Ph.D; P.G.C.[Dist]; LAMDA; LCM.

There were excellent entries in all the classes and it was good to see so many supporters. Coffee was provided by the Mother’s Union and lunch provided by Zest caterers. After the 6 classes were completed, the adjudicator gave her results and complimented all the participants on their standard of performance. The Federation Chairman then presented the trophies and certificates. Margaret Collinson also congratulated the members for a wonderful day of entertainment and encouraged everyone to bring their friends next time. Ethel Simpson provided a general vote of thanks and the day concluded with everyone singing A Countrywoman’s Song.

The winners are as follows:

Magherafelt Trophy, Three Minute Prepared Speech

  • 1st Lila Swaile, Desertcreat WI
  • 2nd Nancy Orr, Armoy WI
    Armoy Trophy, Sight Reading

  • 1st Kathleen McCurdy, Armoy WI
  • 2nd Ivy Pentland, Downpatrick WI
    Lambeg Trophy, Poem by Irish Poet

  • 1st Marie Bain, Downpatrick WI
  • 2nd Doris Scovell, Downpatrick WI
    Phillipine McCoy Trophy, Humorous Verse

  • 1st Anna Murphy, Kells and Connor WI
  • 2nd Wilma Fleming, Templepatrick WI
    Aileen Chapman Trophy, Poem Written by a WI Member

  • 1st Elizabeth Moon, Kilrea WI
  • 2nd Maude Moorhead, Loughbrickland WI
    Downpatrick Trophy, Prepared Prose

  • 1st Henrietta Bayne, Desertcreat WI
  • 2nd Pamela Rea, Richhill WI
  • 2nd Doris Scovell, Downpatrick WI
  • 2nd Maud Steele , Kilrea WI


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response