Annual General Meeting 2017

Posted November 1, 2017 by WI Staff in Event Reports

The 76th AGM was held on Thursday 23rd March 2017 at the Kings Hall Conference Centre in Belfast and chaired by Federation President Lady Anthony Hamilton. The hall was filled with over four hundred members, keen to hear reports on the ongoing work of the organisation from the Chairmen of the six Sub-Committees, Federation Treasurer Elsie Loughlin and Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden.

Awards which had been presented during the past six months since the Autumn Council Meeting in October were acknowledged. Awards were presented on the day to members for the International, Magazine & Leisure and Homecraft competitions. Seven members also were presented with their Full Circle brooches for having completed twenty-four crafts on the Homecraft Syllabus and Gold Spinning Wheels were also awarded to ten members for craftwork.

In the afternoon greetings were brought by The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor of Belfast Alderman Brian Kingston, RUAS President Cyril Millar,  UFU President Barclay Bell, SWI Chairman Christine Hutton, Jacqui Loughlin from Women’s Forum and Kay Simpson of Townswomen’s Guild. Apologies had been received from YFCU President Roberta Simmons, Marie O’Toole of ICA and Janice Langley from the National Federation of Women’s Institutes. The members were delighted to have with them Robert Irwin, Editor of Farmweek, representing the press.

The guest speaker was Anna Lo who shared her very interesting, personal story of her life in Northern Ireland since arriving from Hong Kong in 1974. With the WI being a non-party political organisation, Anna did not dwell on her political career but did talk about her very valuable work with the Chinese community. Anna has recently published a book entitled ‘The Place I Call Home’.

The meeting concluded in traditional style with the singing of A Countrywoman’s Song.


The following awards were presented:



Mary Boyd Trophy (A handmade thank-you card): Marjorie McDowell, Kells & Connor WI


Magazine and Leisure

Mourne Cup (best original poem written by a WI member published in the Ulster Countrywoman magazine during the year): Ellen McKenna, Donaghmore WI

Quoile Trophy (best photograph to grace the front cover of the Ulster Countrywoman magazine during the year): Dorothy Andrews, Maze Brookfield WI

Phyllis Gailey Trophy (Literary Competition – best original short story): Joy Caskie, Aghanloo WI

Waringstown Cup (Scrapbook Competition – Open class): Broughshane WI

Carryduff Cup (Scrapbook Competition – Novice class): Coleraine WI

Crystal Cup (Scrapbook Competition – Best front cover): Broughshane WI

Crystal Cup (Scrapbook Competition – Best single page): Ballywalter WI



Full Circle Winners

Mae Crawford, Armoy WI

Avril Kidd, Broughshane WI

Margaret Kennedy, Glarryford WI

Margaret Jack, Gleno WI

Mary Huey, Gleno WI

Maureen Dunwoody, Gleno WI

Dorothy Andrews, Maze Brookfield WI


Gold Spinning Wheel Winners

Catherine Finney, Aghadowey WI

Isobel Barclay, Armoy WI

Marlene Walsh, Armoy WI

Iris Megaw, Ballievery WI

Mairead Wood, Ballievey WI

Iris McFetridge, Broughshane WI

Jean Hanna, Glarryford WI

Gillian Beattie, Magheraberry WI

Jennifer Skelly, Moneyrea WI

Joan Beattie, Newtownstewart WI


Trophy Winners

*Burnside Trophy (Irish Crochet) – Ann Eccleson, Jerrettspass WI


*Isobel Lusk Cup (Knitting) – Ann McMaster, Broughshane WI


*Roe Valley Trophy (Full Circle Holders) – Elaine Kirkpatrick, Larne WI


*Doreen Dawson Cup (Team Entry of 3 Different Crafts) – Pomeroy WI (Annie Cuddy, Ruth Barnes & Shirley Gilkinson)


*Emily Bossence Tray (Gold Award Holders) – Diana Thomspon, Ballyclare WI


*Hilda Stewart Trophy (Best Entry of Limerick or Carrickmacross Lace) – Ethel Patterson, Leckpatrick WI


*Thelma Goldring Trophy (Best Individual Item) – Evelyne Robinson, Baollymoney WI


*Dromore Scroll (New Guild Member with Highest Number of A+) – Ann Eccleson, Jerrettspass WI


*Clanabogan Cup (Team Knitting) – Drumbeg WI (Eva Orr, Rosemary Reid & Anne McAdam)


*Greenisland Cup (Institute Gaining the Greatest Number of ‘Grade A’ Awards in Proportion to the Number of Members During The Year) – Jerrettspass WI


*Coey II Cup (Embroidery) – Irene Craig, Vinecash WI


*Olive Kane Cup (Wool Embroidery) – Evelyne Robinson, Ballymoney WI


*Eileen McCoubrey Cup (Traditional White Embroidery) – Elizabeth McLister, Glarryford WI


*Etta Stewart Cup (Best Entry of Craftwork Exclusive of Cup Winning Entries) – Elaine Hine, Broughshane WI


*Seapark Salver (Best Entry by a Newly Enrolled Member) – Ann Eccleson, Jerrettspass WI


*Janet Jones Trophy (Other Craft Not Included In Syllabus) – Ann Eccleson, Jerrettspass WI


*Peggy Adams Memorial Trophy (White Embroidery) – Elizabeth McLister, Glarryford WI


Guest speaker Anna Lo with her autobiography ‘The Place I Call Home’.


Talented award winners at the AGM, pictured with Federation President Lady Anthony Hamilton and Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden.


Manning the ACWW stand – International Sub-Committee Chairman Agnes Black showcasing the WI’s work with ACWW Projects.


Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden with SWI Chairman Christine Hutton.


Talented WI craftswomen who won prestigious Full Circle or Gold Spinning Wheel Homecraft awards, pictured at the AGM with Federation President Lady Anthony Hamilton.


A triple threat from Gleno WI! Well done to three hardworking and talented ladies, all from Gleno WI, who each received their Full Circle awards for Homecraft at the AGM: Mary Huey, Margaret Jack and Maureen Dunwoody.


Talented mother-daughter duo – Avril Kidd of Broughshane WI (right) and Marlene Walsh of Armoy WI (left), pictured at the AGM with Federation President Lady Anthony Hamilton. Marlene was awarded her Gold Spinning Wheel for Homecraft and her mother Avril received the prestigious Full Circle award.


A huge well done to gifted craftswoman Anne Eccleson of Jerrettspass WI (pictured) who was awarded an amazing total of five Homecraft trophies at the AGM! What’s even more impressive is that Ann only joined Jerrettspass WI just over one year ago but immediately became involved with the Homecraft syllabus. Congratulations Ann!


Winner of the International Sub-Committee’s Mary Boyd Trophy for her beautiful handmade card, Marjorie McDowell of Kells & Connor WI.


Guests at the AGM 2017.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response