Quoile – Spring Area Meeting

Posted June 20, 2022 by WI Staff in Local Areas

The Spring meeting took place on Thursday 28th April 2022, hosted by the Spa WI in the Arnold Hall.  The Chairperson was Pamela Shanks (President of KillinchyWI), Secretary Judith Wainwright (Secretary of SeafordeWI) and Federation Chairperson Margaret Broome (International Officer, SeafordeWI).


All eight institutes were represented – Annalong, Ardglass, Crossgar, Downpatrick, Seaforde, Slievenaman and Spa.  A minute of silence was observed for Pearl Shaw, Joan Shanks, Avril Thompson and other passed members.


Sub-Committee reports were read out, including International news from the Associated Country Women of the World (ACWW) whose name will be changing to Rural Women in Action


An excellent supper was served by the hosts, followed by a presentation from the guest speaker for the evening, Mr. Michael Fryer, Outreach Officer of the Belfast War Museum.  Michael’s subject was ‘Womens Contribution to WW2’.


The Quoile Area Competitions were judged and the following trophies awarded and presented by Federation Chairperson Margaret Broome:


*Pearl Shaw Award  (for the Institute awarded the most points for Federation competitions)Crossgar WI, collected by Lorna Stevenson

*Joan Shanks Award (for a pair of knitted adult socks)1st Libby Brown of Crossgar WI, 2nd Ruby Hunter of Spa WI, 3rd Babs Bassett formally of Arglass WI, now of Spa WI

*Nora Lennon Award (for a decorated chocolate cake fit for a Queen!)1st Sandra Connelly, Spa WI, 2nd Lorna Stevenson, Crossgar WI, 3rd Babs Bassett, Spa WI

*Petal & Pots (for a flower arrangement in a WI mug)1st Geraldine Gray of Downpatrick, 2nd Helen Newell of Seaforde, 3rd Margaret McCall of Seaforde WI

*Quiz Cup Seaforde WI, collected by Susan McDowell

*Bowls CupBabs Bassett of Spa WI


Federation Awards were presented as follows:

*Silver Spinning Wheel (Awarded for attaining 6 Homecraft Ribbons at Federation Level) – Babs Bassett of Spa WI & Helen Newell, Seaforde WI

*Homecraft Ribbons (Awarded for knitting,macrame & millinery) – Libby Brown of Crossgar WI


For the entertainment segment, Crossgar WI members treated the audience to a display of line dancing from the Inch Line Dancing Troupe and their leader Andrew.


The Vote of Thanks was given by Julia Robinson of Downpatrick WI for a most memorable evening.

After the singing of ‘A Countrywoman’s Song, Chairperson Pamela Shanks wished everyone a safe journey home.


Federation Chairman Margaret Broome & Libby Brown.


Federation Chairman Margaret Broome & Susan McDowell.


Federation Chairman Margaret Broome & Susan Connolley.


Federation Chairman Margaret Broome & Libby Brown.


Federation Chairman Margaret Broome & Edwina Marr (collecting for Geraldine Gray).


 Federation Chairman Margaret Broome & Lorna Stevenson.


Federation Chairman Margaret Broome & Babs Bassett.




Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response